Princeton Tigers vs Dartmouth

Princeton Mercer County NJ

Saturday, November 7 2020

On November 6, 1869, Princeton (then called The College of New Jersey) and Rutgers battled against one another; the game ended in a Rutgers win in which they scored six runs to Princeton’s four. Though played with a round ball, used Football Association (soccer) rules, and closely resembled rugby, this game marked the beginning of intercollegiate football. Two weeks after the inaugural game, Princeton handed Rutgers its first loss– eight runs to zero. Both Rutgers and Princeton were retroactively awarded the 1869 National Championship. Since that time, the Tigers have won 28 National Championships (including 22 of the first 40). 10 Conference titles, and a Heisman Trophy (Dick Kazmaier ’51).